A Punctual Look At: The Best of 2009

20 Jan

2009.
It was a pretty awesome year. At least I thought it was anyway.
Seeing that it hasn’t been 2009 for about 4 weeks now, I thought I might do a post about it. I’m always right on top of things like that.
Now I’m not going to tell you EVERYTHING that happened all year, that would be silly, and I’m too lazy to do that and I wouldn’t be able to remember half the stuff off the top of my head.
So I shall share my favourite 10 new things that came out of it, much like a friend from Tightrope to the Sun did while it was still 2009.
Fancy doing a review of a year before it was over properly. People are weird. Yet I digress.
Oh, and the only in the order that I thought of them. Which probably says something about how much each of them has stuck in my mind compared to the others, but not necessarily better than the other.
Oh and in the name of diplomacy (and because they had scissors), I have withdrawn people from the running.

***

little arrow head

Avatar: The Last Airbender

Now this show was by no means new to me before last year. I had caught it on the abc whenever I could when it was on, and thought it was a pretty cool show. Seen maybe a randomly scattered half of the first season, and a couple of the episodes from the early first season, and rather enjoyed them.
But this year a very good friend of mine gave me the entire three seasons of it.
I have watched each episode about a brazilian times each since.
I spent a serious chunk of last year watching Avatar, and I regret none of it, and thats why it makes the cut.
General Iroh is easily my favourite character, not just from Avatar, but from everything ever

general iroh

***

firefly
Firefly

Sorry about the redundancy.
But yeah, Firefly. Never even heard of it before this yeah. But I really enjoyed it. Definately look into if you haven’t heard of it before, although I doubt anyone who reads this won’t have.
I think I need to get better at writing.

***

viva la juerga
Viva La Juerga

Diego’s Umbrellas second album. Easily the best album I own, let alone the best album in the known universe.
Found it on a wonderful little site called CdBaby.
Its upbeat, with quirky lyrics and melodies that will make you groove and dance no matter where you’re listening to it.
If you buy only one album this year, it probably won’t be this one, and that is bordering on a crime.

***


ANU and Unilodge

I’m noticing a theme with all the redundancy. This was poorly thought through.
Anyway, uni was heaps of fun last year. And hopefully this year is no different. Made bucketload of new friends. Phantasmagorical new friends.
Oh and learned some cool stuff too.
Like that if a cow had the metabolism of a mouse, it would spontaneously combust. Thats right, I pay attention to all the really important things in lectures.
Unilodge was great too. Fun place to live. Especially picking on it. Lots of zany characters.
Again, this year should be just as good, if not better.
Fingers crossed anyway.

unilodge

***


HvZ

Truely the sport of kings.
Did I say kings? I meant nerds.
So many nerds.
Seriously fun though.
If any of you reading this are going to anu this year and haven’t heard of it, or have but didn’t play, look into it. It is not worth missing out on. And if you do, you will see all us crazy nerds running around like madmen having an absolute blast and you will cry on the inside because you are not playing.
Oh and I was Australias first HvZ zombie.
Jealous? If so then I have a link for YOU!

zombified

***


The Areas of My Expertise

I figured I should probably have a book on this list. This little gem by John Hodgman would probably be the best thing that I read all year.
Essentially it is a whole heap of stuff this smartarse has dreamt up and decided to put in a book.
Which is definately my kinda read.
Definately look into it if your interests include hobo conspiracies.

***

up
Up

Amazing little movie.
Touched me like a movie hasn’t in quite a while. I’ll show you where on this doll.
Go see it if you haven’t already.

***

speculative dinosaur project

The Speculative Dinosaur Project

Stumbled across this thing mid to late last year. It had me nerding out for weeks.
Essentially its a bunch of paleontologist that have put their collective heads and posed the question “What would the world look today if the K/T event hadn’t happened?” and then did their best to answer it.
Really got me into the whole speculative biology deal, which is heaps fun if you’re a evolutionary biology nerd like myself.
If you have any interest in such matters or dinosaurs you should have a peep at it.

***

fisherman pants
Fisherman Pants

Bought a pair very early on in the year, and I love them to death. Very comfortable. Very wonderful. Very superior to tracksuit pants. Fun to wear. All that jazz.
Actually have another pair of hippy pants now. They are quite swishy and entertain my small mind to no end.
I reckon hippies are pretty on the ball with their clothes.

***

tea
Tea

Believe it or not, I had never had tea before last year.
Get offered it all the time at work, just never said yes.
Then one day when I was offered a cup at morning smoko I asked myself “Why not?” and in less than overnight I went from having never touched a drop in my life to drinking three cups a day. When I’m at work anyway.
Probably drink more this year than last year too.

***

Oh, and I’ll probably go back to normal posting now, if a little less often until I get this other project finished. I tend to work more when I have more to do, I hope, we’ll see how it goes

TYFYT

4 Responses to “A Punctual Look At: The Best of 2009”

  1. Wordsmith January 20, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    Someone else who was behind the times with Firefly! *high fives*

    And in other words, I whole-heartedly approve of your list! πŸ˜€

  2. shannon January 20, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    i approve of this to the fullness of my ability

  3. Hamish January 31, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    HODGMAN πŸ˜€

    • Hamish January 31, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

      follow-up comment: TEA πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

